Mandated Reporter: How to Recognize and Report Child Abuse
As of July 1, 2012 Georgia revised the reporting law to include child serving organizations (employees and volunteers) as mandated reporters. The law requires that mandated reporters, “having reasonable cause to believe that a child has been abused, shall report or cause reports of that abuse to be made.”
Volunteer Essentials Policy 22 defines Child abuse to include your role and how to report.
The Governor’s Office for Children and Families (GOCF) sponsors a free, online training course, provided through ProSolutions Training, that details the law and its recent changes, discusses warning signs that can indicate if a child is being abused or neglected, and explains your role in reporting suspected child abuse. You can access Mandated Reporters: Critical Links in Protecting Children in Georgia online for free.
Once you have completed this online course, please email a copy of your certificate to firstname.lastname@example.org and it will be added it to your Girls Scouts of Greater Atlanta Transcripts.
Thank you for helping to protect the safety of our Girl Scouts.
When to report:
If child is in immediate danger and/or within 24 hours, call 911 or the local police
Also, please submit Accident/Incident Report within 72 hours to:
Girl Scouts of Greater Atlanta, Inc.
Monday through Friday (9 am to 5 pm)
770.702.9100 or 1.800.771.4046
After-hours (After 5 pm)